Dr. Walter Jackson named ESC Region VI Superintendent of the Year

Brenham ISD is honored to announce that Dr. Walter Jackson, Brenham ISD Superintendent of Schools, has been selected as the ESC Region VI Superintendent of the Year.

“We had a very strong field of applicants and would like to thank all the Boards that submitted their nominations,” said Michael Holland, ESC Region VI Executive Director. “Dr. Jackson has done an outstanding job and is very deserving of the honor.”

Prior to joining Brenham ISD, Jackson served for twenty-two years in Alief ISD, a suburban district of 47,000 students. He has served as a teacher, principal, and area superintendent. In 2010 Jackson was selected by his peers as the Region IV Principal of the Year. Jackson joined Brenham ISD in April 2015 as the superintendent of schools. Under his leadership, Brenham ISD has implemented many programs and initiatives that promote equity, encourage two-way communication, and improve instructional systems to close the achievement gap.

Jackson is committed to the Brenham community and serves on various local boards including Baylor Scott & White Medical Center of Brenham, Brenham Main Street, and Miracle Farm. He is a member of the Rotary Club of Washington County and the Brenham Activist Association. Jackson also serves on the board for the Texas Equity Center and the University Interscholastic League (UIL) Legislative Council and is a member of the TASA Executive Committee.

“Dr. Jackson is unfailingly focused on providing a world-class education to our students and strengthening the local and global community of supporters for public education,” said Brenham ISD Board President Natalie Lange. “He is a visionary leader who inspires greatness in everyone around him and I cannot imagine anyone who deserves this honor more.”

In Texas, twenty educational service centers represent 1,053 school districts. Each service center selects a superintendent to represent their region for the statewide award program. Dr. Walter Jackson will go on to represent ESC Region VI for the Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) Superintendent of the Year award. This award program honors outstanding administrators who exhibit exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance. Superintendents are nominated by their local school board for exhibiting strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their districts, and commitment to public support and involvement in education.