Truancy

Karem Chandler, F.A.M.E. Parent Liaison and Truancy Officer

kchandler@brenhamk-12.net | 979-277-3895 ext. 2175

The law in the state of Texas (HB 2398) requires that children between the ages of 6 (or younger if enrolled in prekindergarten or kindergarten) and 19 to attend school. According to Section 25.095 of the Texas Education Code, as a parent, legal guardian, or person standing in parental relation to the child, you are responsible for ensuring that your child attends school regularly. If you fail to require your child to attend school as required by law, you commit the offense of contributing to a child’s truancy. A criminal complaint is filed against the parent/guardian when a student is absent without an acceptable written excuse for ten (10) days or parts of days within a six (6) month period. Those convicted of contributing to a child’s truancy will be subject to a fine of up to $500. Furthermore, your child, age 12 and over, is also subject to Truancy Court. They may be fined, have driving privileges revoked, or referred to the Juvenile Court system. It is crucial to note that in order for your child to receive credit for a class or grade, they are required to be in attendance at least 90% of the days the class meets. The law also states that Texas school districts are required to notify a parent in writing if their child is absent for three (3) days, or parts of days, without an acceptable written excuse and to initiate Truancy Prevention Measures to avoid court referrals or complaints to the maximum extent possible.
  • Dear BISD Parents/Guardians:

    The law in the state of Texas (HB 2398) requires that children between the ages of 6 (or younger if enrolled in prekindergarten or kindergarten) and 19 to attend school. According to Section 25.095 of the Texas Education Code, as a parent, legal guardian, or person standing in parental relation to the child, you are responsible for ensuring that your child attends school regularly. If you fail to require your child to attend school as required by law, you commit the offense of contributing to a child’s truancy. A criminal complaint is filed against the parent/guardian when a student is absent without an acceptable written excuse for ten (10) days or parts of days within a six (6) month period. Those convicted of contributing to a child’s truancy will be subject to a fine of up to $500. Furthermore, your child, age 12 and over, is also subject to Truancy Court. They may be fined, have driving privileges revoked, or referred to the Juvenile Court system. It is crucial to note that in order for your child to receive credit for a class or grade, they are required to be in attendance at least 90% of the days the class meets. The law also states that Texas school districts are required to notify a parent in writing if their child is absent for three (3) days, or parts of days, without an acceptable written excuse and to initiate Truancy Prevention Measures to avoid court referrals or complaints to the maximum extent possible.

    This letter serves to inform you of the procedures that the Brenham Independent School District has in place to address truancy and conform with the state of Texas House Bill 2398. Please refer to the Student Handbook for a list of acceptable excuse absences and the guidelines to ensure they are recorded accordingly. Failing to do so will initiate the following:

    • When a student reaches three (3) unexcused absences, a call from school staff and a warning letter will be sent home requesting a parent meeting with a school administrator to initiate Truancy Prevention Measures and address the root causes of the unexcused absences. Please contact the school immediately to prevent further actions.
    • When a student reaches five (5) unexcused absences, a 2nd warning letter will be sent home requesting a parent meeting with a school administrator to instate an Attendance Intervention Plan and to sign a Parent/Student contract. Please contact the school immediately to prevent further actions.
    • When a student reaches ten (10)  unexcused absences within a 6 month period, a 3rd and final warning letter will be sent home advising you that a truancy referral and/or criminal complaint has been issued on you and/or your child's behalf. Washington County Truancy Court will mail you a citation. Please be present and on time on your court date to avoid further fines.

    These letters will list the dates of the unexcused absences. If you have any questions or have reason to believe that the number of, or the status of absences listed, is incorrect, please call or email your school's attendance clerk immediately.

    Your child’s attendance is important to us! Please help us by ensuring your child is in school each day and by providing the proper documentation no later than 3 working days after every absence. 

La ley en el estado de Texas (HB 2398) requiere que los niños entre las edades de 6 (o menores si están inscritos en prekinder o kinder) y 19 años asistan a la escuela. De acuerdo con la Sección 25.095 del Código de Educación de Texas, usted como padre, tutor legal o persona que tiene una relación parental con el estudiante, es responsable de garantizar que su hijo/a asista a la escuela regularmente. Se presenta una denuncia penal contra el padre / tutor cuando un estudiante está ausente sin una excusa justificada y por escrito durante diez (10) días o parte del día dentro de un período de seis (6) meses. Si se le encuentra culpable de contribuir al ausentismo escolar de un niño estará sujeto a una multa de hasta $500 dlls. Además, sus hijos de 12 años en adelante, también están sujetos a una queja penal de ausentismo escolar. Pueden ser multados, les pueden revocar los privilegios de conducir o remitirlos al sistema de la Corte de Menores. Es crucial tener en cuenta que para que su hijo/a reciba crédito por una clase o grado, debe asistir al menos el 90% de los días que se reúne la clase. La ley también establece que los distritos escolares de Texas deben notificar por escrito a los padres si su hijo/a está ausente por tres (3) o más días, o parte del día, sin una excusa por escrito que las justifique, también requiere iniciar la implementación de medidas de prevención de ausentismo escolar.
  • Estimados padres / tutores de BISD:

     

    La ley en el estado de Texas (HB 2398) requiere que los niños entre las edades de 6 (o menores si están inscritos en prekinder o kinder) y 19 años asistan a la escuela. De acuerdo con la Sección 25.095 del Código de Educación de Texas, usted como padre, tutor legal o persona que tiene una relación parental con el estudiante, es responsable de garantizar que su hijo/a asista a la escuela regularmente. Se presenta una denuncia penal contra el padre / tutor cuando un estudiante está ausente sin una excusa justificada y por escrito durante diez (10) días o parte del día dentro de un período de seis (6) meses. Si se le encuentra culpable de contribuir al ausentismo escolar de un niño estará sujeto a una multa de hasta $500 dlls. Además, sus hijos de 12 años en adelante, también están sujetos a una queja penal de ausentismo escolar. Pueden ser multados, les pueden revocar los privilegios de conducir o remitirlos al sistema de la Corte de Menores. Es crucial tener en cuenta que para que su hijo/a reciba crédito por una clase o grado, debe asistir al menos el 90% de los días que se reúne la clase. La ley también establece que los distritos escolares de Texas deben notificar por escrito a los padres si su hijo/a está ausente por tres (3) o más días, o parte del día, sin una excusa por escrito que las justifique, también requiere iniciar la implementación de medidas de prevención de ausentismo escolar. 

    Esta carta sirve para informarle sobre los procedimientos que el Distrito Escolar Independiente de Brenham ha implementado para abordar el ausentismo escolar y cumplir con la ley HB 2398 del estado de Texas. Consulte el manual del estudiante para obtener una lista de ausencias que se aceptan como justificadas y los requisitos necesarios para garantizar que las ausencias sean registradas por la escuela correctamente. De no hacerlo, nos vemos obligados en iniciar los siguientes pasos:

    • Cuando un estudiante acumula tres (3) ausencias injustificadas, recibirá una llamada del personal de la escuela y una carta de advertencia solicitando una reunión con usted y un administrador de la escuela para dar inicio a las Medidas de Prevención de Ausentismo Escolar y para discutir las causas o la raíz de las ausencias injustificadas. Comuníquese con la escuela de inmediato para evitar mayores consecuencias.
    • Cuando un estudiante acumula cinco (5) ausencias injustificadas, se enviará una segunda carta de advertencia a la casa solicitando una reunión con usted y un administrador de la escuela para establecer un Plan de Intervención de Asistencia y firmar un Contrato de Padre e Estudiante. Comuníquese con la escuela de inmediato para evitar mayores consecuencia.
    • Cuando un estudiante acumula diez (10) ausencias injustificadas dentro de un período de 6 meses, se enviará a casa una tercera y última carta de advertencia informándole que se ha emitido una demanda criminal de ausentismo escolar y / o una queja penal en su nombre y / o en nombre de su hijo/a. El Tribunal de Ausencias del Condado de Washington le enviará un citatorio por correo para comparecer ante el tribunal. Por favor esté presente y puntual en la fecha que le indique la corte para evitar multas adicionales.

    Estas cartas enumerarán las fechas de las ausencias injustificadas. Si tiene alguna pregunta o tiene motivos para creer que la cantidad o falta de justificación de las ausencias enumeradas es incorrecta, llame o envíe un correo electrónico al empleado encargado de la asistencia y ausencias escolares (attendance clerk en inglés) de su escuela de inmediato.¡La asistencia de su hijo/a es importante para nosotros! Ayúdenos asegurándose de que su hijo/a esté en la escuela todos los días y proporcionando la documentación adecuada a más tardar 3 días hábiles después de cada ausencia.

COPYRIGHT © 2016 - BRENHAM INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISCTRICT